Author Topic: Subwoofer Amp  (Read 4629 times)

Offline BeginnerMattTopic starter

• Contributor
Subwoofer Amp
« on: March 02, 2015, 09:57:01 pm »
I have a 80W 4 ohm subwoofer with a blown pre amp. I was thinking of wiring my own pre amp to power the sub. The signal would be coming from my Kenwood 200W reciever. Does anyone have a schematic I could follow or any suggestions on how to go about this?

Offline eejake52

• Contributor
Re: Subwoofer Amp
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2015, 10:46:06 pm »

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2015, 01:56:53 am »
I have a 80W 4 ohm subwoofer with a blown pre amp. I was thinking of wiring my own pre amp to power the sub. The signal would be coming from my Kenwood 200W reciever. Does anyone have a schematic I could follow or any suggestions on how to go about this?

Thanks Jake, as I'm a beginner with electronics I have a few questions. What is the "R-DC" 5k resistor going to? What's the .1uf cap with the not filled in arrow going to? and finally what is the non filled in arrow on the output buffer / volume control section that is kind of pointing to the 10k resistor. Thanks in advance!

Offline PeterFW

• Frequent Contributor
    • Stuff that goes boom
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2015, 02:09:33 am »
and finally what is the non filled in arrow on the output buffer

Those arrows are represend a connection to the signal ground.
That should help to understand what they do :)

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2015, 02:22:31 am »
Thanks! one last question, pins 7 & 4 are for voltage in and ground on the OP07. nothing is labeled in the schematic, does this assume you know to connect it to power or are these amps passive?

Offline PeterFW

• Frequent Contributor
    • Stuff that goes boom
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2015, 02:32:18 am »
does this assume you know to connect it to power or are these amps passive?

The former, it asumes that you connect the supply pins yourself.