Author Topic: TEKTRONIX 2465A  (Read 973 times)

Offline ABSTATopic starter

• Contributor
TEKTRONIX 2465A
« on: August 24, 2020, 06:20:33 pm »
Hello ... i found this second hand Oscilloscope in facebook Market. I'm a beginner with these devices. I don't know why the curve has this shape. I tried to calibrate the probe ,but can't obtain the right curve.... is this oscilloscope ok?

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: TEKTRONIX 2465A
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2020, 06:29:37 pm »
That looks OK, so far as it goes.

Scopes are complex and subtle instruments. You need to RTFM (see the TekWiki http://w140.com/tekwiki/wiki/2465A ), and possibly a basic introduction to scopes. I'm sure there are many around; if nothing else have a look at TAoE III appendix O.

You should also realise that the probe's shield is connected to mains earth, so do not go and probe the mains, lest there be loud noises and smoke. For basic probe safety, and other info, see the links at https://entertaininghacks.wordpress.com/library-2/scope-probe-reference-material/
« Last Edit: August 24, 2020, 06:32:22 pm by tggzzz »
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Offline MarkL

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2020, 08:09:52 pm »
The waveform is that shape because the calibration output is not the best square wave generator on these scopes.

You can clean up the waveform somewhat by connecting the ground lead on the probe to a banana plug plugged into the ground jack right next to the cal output.  You could also hold the probe ground to one of the BNC outer shells for a temporary connection.