Author Topic: Vintage Oscilloscope Probe Choice  (Read 1127 times)

Offline bugcoTopic starter

Vintage Oscilloscope Probe Choice
« on: May 02, 2018, 04:00:34 pm »
Hello All!

This is my first post after joining your forum, and it is regarding an instrument type that I have no experience with, and it is old clunker to boot! I hope the question is not too dopey but if it is... apologies.

The unit is a Telequipment Oscilloscope Type S54
The Specs I have found state it is 10MHz Bandwidth, 400 Vdc + Max Input, Single Chanel.
Not sure if relevant but has a Y Axis selector for 1x/10x gain on panel.

It seems generally operational (?) But I have no probe, or signal generator yet.
I will only playing with this on Audio components and circuits. Low voltage stuff (no valves/tubes) until I learn a thing or two.

Question: Can I use any Probe up to the 250MHz ones I see about, or do I need to find a 10MHz unit? The lowest MHz 'cheapo' unit I have come across is 20MHz. The higher MHz probes give more choices and qualities but I am afraid they may not work at the rated MHz, and they are not 1x/10x selectable but seem fixed at 100x

Thanks for any advise/comments
Simon

Offline nathanpc

• Supporter
    • Innove Workshop
Re: Vintage Oscilloscope Probe Choice
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2018, 04:28:40 pm »
Hello bugco, you can use any probe you want as long as it has an equal or higher bandwidth spec, for example the 200MHz probe will work perfectly fine on your oscilloscope. The selector switch for x1 or x10 is only used to select the type of probe you have connected, so just use the appropriate option for the type of probe you're using in order to get a accurate Y scale.

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2018, 04:34:23 pm »
Just ensure
  • the bandwidth is higher than your scope's bandwidth
  • the probe's compensation range encompasses your scope's input capacitance