Author Topic: Water level sensor auto to up  (Read 1227 times)

Offline IdzanagiTopic starter

• Contributor
Water level sensor auto to up
« on: February 03, 2020, 08:03:31 pm »
Hello guys,

I was thinking to make a simple auto top-up for my fish tank. For this I ha bought from eBay
a water pump:
DC Voltage:3-5V
Flow rate:1.2-1.6L/min
Operating current (MA):100-200 MA

And a contactless water level sensor:
Signal Type: Voltage Signal
Working temperature: 0~60°C
Working voltage: DC5~24V
Output current: 300mA
Response time: 30 seconds
Output voltage: 0.5V
Current consumption: 5mA

and I had a few of these N MOSFETs:
NTD3055L104 Datasheet:
http://www.farnell.com/datasheets/2354279.pdf?_ga=2.87091932.51684700.1580662405-1659520191.1575453177&_gac=1.156421577.1580662405.CjwKCAiAg9rxBRADEiwAxKDTunwK6LIGNb0FcUEN7gutzKVJgo_CeV4LYp6WnKOd_959IvXdxC3W5xoCIUIQAvD_BwE

I have never used Mosfets before so I am not sure that I did everything correctly or not. but there is the wiring:
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1lZLvW55_A1Ed4BMtQ_eLx-Vu_jm8-hwQ

My PSU is a simple USB charger: 5V 1A

My problem is that the pump does not get the 5V 200mA and this way is too weak to do the job.
The sensor is turning it on and off so the MOSFET gets the signal. I measure the signal is 4.3V and maybe 1mA.

When I directly connect the Pump to the power source it`s working fine. So I think I do something wrong with the MOSFET. As far as I understand the datasheet 4.3V should be enough.

Does anyone have an idea what is the next step, what did I do wrong?

Thanks!

Offline floobydust

• Super Contributor
Re: Water level sensor auto to up
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2020, 10:21:39 pm »
Need more details about the water sensor, there are many different options they have. The non-contacting sensor modules can be analog or digital output, and source or sink current. It sounds like you are getting enough voltage to turn on the mosfet, yet the pump motor does not spin, which does not make sense.