Author Topic: Anything I should know about putting GFCIs at a work bench?  (Read 11635 times)

Offline JustMeHere

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Anything I should know about putting GFCIs at a work bench?
« Reply #25 on: May 01, 2024, 07:23:59 pm »
Why on earth would you deliberately provide 1/2 of a circuit that could kill you?

In addition to years as an electronic hobbyist, I worked over 45 years with all types of electric and electronic equipment, including high powered (high Voltage) commercial transmitters. In all of that time the worst shock I ever got was when about 40,000 Volts passed through my body, through my shoes, and into the grounded, METAL workbench I was working at. I know that was the path it took because I found the burn holes in my hand and on the bottom of my foot.

IMHO, the last thing you want is a grounded workbench. And I think I know what I am talking about. I don't even like those grounded mats for the top of the bench that are supposed to prevent static damage. When I find one I either disconnect it or toss it away. In that same time period I have never seen anything damaged by static discharge. Those mats serve NO PURPOSE.

Oh, and when you see a Voltage specification on a probe, BELIEVE IT. That 40,000 V also went through or around a meter probe I was using. The meter, a Simpson 260, was OK.

The US standard GFCI is designed to trip about 5mA, not 30mA.  They are an excellent idea. Consider grounding your workbench, etc if it is metal. I specifically chose metal pegboard mounted to Unistrut so that I would have a solid ground in case devices mounted there faulted.

I heard a story just like this yesterday....bench was grounded.   Worker was tired.  Had one hand on the bench and  accidentally brushed a welding rod across his forehead trying to wipe sweat away.  Zap.   

If only his project had been grounded, he would still be here.

Online jonpaul

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: May 02, 2024, 04:40:11 am »