Author Topic: Convince me not to give up on electronics.  (Read 11747 times)

Offline Mint.Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Account is inactive now. Thanks everybody!
    • Personal Blog, Mint Electronics.
Convince me not to give up on electronics.
« on: September 28, 2012, 10:48:31 am »
It has been almost a year now since I started to be a formal hobbyist in the art of electronics. Unfortunately the journey was no what I was expecting it to be. At first it was tiring and boring when I started learning about the basics (and I am still not finished), however I kept myself motivated and going by looking into the future and imagining all the cool things I could build with my knowledge. When I tested my circuits on the breadboard, but most of the time they never worked the way I wanted them to and hence I became highly demotivated, but I still kept going. I knew I wanted to become an electrical engineer.

Then a month or so I had work experience (aka job shadow), I just sat there for the next 5 days crimping wires and screwing on sockets onto various cases, boring and repetitive. I didn't even get to do any soldering, because I was "inexperienced", I tried telling the guy I was a hobbyist and if he could only give me a chance to show that I can! But no bulge. I asked various questions about electronics, but none of them seemed to be interested in it outside of the workshop. They told me they didn't use math at much and the whole process with picking values and components was just a hit and miss selection. The experience really shook me and gave me a wake up call, I began to question whenever I really want to have a job like this. Whenever I really am just going to be somebody working in a dirty lab soldering PCB's and screwing on components onto boxes.