Author Topic: Cryogenic Energy Storage??  (Read 7730 times)

Offline SgtRockTopic starter

• Supporter
Cryogenic Energy Storage??
« on: October 03, 2012, 04:20:26 am »
Greetings EEVBees:

--See below link to a BBC article about using cryogenic air (less H20 and CO2) as an energy storage medium.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/science-environment-19785689

--I do not know, or course if this will ever be practical or not. I do believe though that it would be better for governments, at this time, to be helping small efforts like this one, rather than strapping the albatross of Wind and PV around our necks.

--Although I have some math, I am not an Engineer, so I invite those more knowledgeable than myself to opine on this scheme.

Horse sense is the thing a horse has which keeps it from betting on people."
William Claude Dukenfield, W. C. Fields 1880 1946

Best Regards
Clear Ether

Offline poptones

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Cryogenic Energy Storage??
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2012, 06:28:14 am »
I give up. Like I said before: there is a point where steadfastness becomes stupidity. Did you even read the article?

IMechE says "wrong-time" electricity generated by wind farms at night can be used to chill air to a cryogenic state at a distant location.

How, pray tell, does this happen without those "albatross?"
« Last Edit: October 03, 2012, 06:30:07 am by poptones »

HLA-27b

« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2012, 08:33:25 am »
The Carnot Cycle sez efficiency depends on temp difference.
The appalling inefficiency of this one is explained by the notorious lossiness of all cooling technologies. We are simply too close to the absolute zero and thus have little wiggle room, merely 273°C to play within. Makes much more sense to go the opposite way where we have thousands if not millions of °C's.

The guy is not a quack though, If you want to run a car on air it makes much more sense to use liquid air rather than highly pressurized - mucho más energy density.