Author Topic: Piles of Tesla owners stranded at charge stations abandons their EV's.  (Read 18247 times)

Online Bud

• Super Contributor
Re: Piles of Tesla owners stranded at charge stations abandons their EV's.
« Reply #150 on: January 18, 2024, 05:50:21 pm »
Do not worry about your vehicle in apocalypse. Someone will come and take it from you. Either the government for the state military needs or a group of organized thugs.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.

The following users thanked this post: bookaboo, Siwastaja

Offline vad

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #151 on: January 18, 2024, 06:54:49 pm »
I suspect a few solar panels is easier, you only need about 1kW to charge most EVs.  Also, not competing between your food and fuel demands is good.
I am not an expert on solar, but according to a Forbes article a 1 kW solar system produces 750-850 kWh annually for average installation in North America. So charging Tesla Model 3 from 20% to 80% would take a whopping 2-3 weeks on average depending on battery option.

Luckily cornfields grow overnight!

Also: I have about 13kWp on my roof.
How is the output at night?

What is your solution for storing solar panels output for just a few hours, making the energy available for overnight charging? How complex is the solution?

PS. Luckily, dent corn has a shelf life of 30 years as a food source and much longer as a fuel source. All you need for storage is a cool, dry place.

Online Siwastaja

• Super Contributor
« Reply #152 on: January 18, 2024, 07:27:12 pm »
What is your solution for storing solar panels output for just a few hours, making the energy available for overnight charging? How complex is the solution?