Author Topic: Question about voltage on rigol  (Read 10727 times)

Offline guitar309Topic starter

• Contributor
Question about voltage on rigol
« on: December 17, 2010, 03:08:19 am »
I am a long time eev blog stalker lol... I have been thinking about buying a Rigol scope now for some time... My only concern is I think the ds1052e is rated for 400 volts...  I am new to the oscilloscope world and knowing that there are some high voltages (over 400) in a guitar amp I am concerned that this scope will not work for what I need it to do... I am mostly wanting to use the scope for biasing tubes and such... but don't want to burn it up... any suggestions??

Online Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
Re: Question about voltage on rigol
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2010, 04:10:26 am »
high volt x1000 probe. check out dave's video with doug ford... http://www.eevblog.com/2010/05/08/eevblog-85-high-voltage-oscilloscope-probe-design/
« Last Edit: December 17, 2010, 04:12:42 am by shafri »
Nature: Evolution and the Illusion of Randomness (Stephen L. Talbott): Its now indisputable that... organisms “expertise” contextualizes its genome, and its nonsense to say that these powers are under the control of the genome being contextualized - Barbara McClintock

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2010, 04:48:44 am »
You'll need an isolated probe if you're working on high voltage mains power supplies. I'm actually looking at how to build one. (I'm thinking of modulating a RF carrier at least 10x the maximum signal frequency, isolating that with an RF transformer, and performing synchronous detection.)
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics