Author Topic: Why my tutor let me study Thermal Image  (Read 1061 times)

Offline China NewBoyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Why my tutor let me study Thermal Image
« on: November 04, 2019, 10:43:04 am »
im a graduate student in China,and im major in electronics. for the past several months i have been working with PSU and Microcontroller,

now my first mission that the tutor assigned to me will finish.

However,two days ago, my tutor told me he decided to let me study Thermal Image ,which i know nothing about....

i dont konw the reason of his decision..and if i say no,i guess he will be angry..

i think after the several months working with with PSU and Microcontroller, i have learned about the basic knowledge of hardware,and i think i should countiue to work with them .

everytime i think about the  thermal image ,software..,my head ache.

what should i do :'(
« Last Edit: November 04, 2019, 10:46:15 am by China NewBoy »

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: Why my tutor let me study Thermal Imagine
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2019, 10:43:30 am »
Imaging*?

Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

• Regular Contributor
Re: Why my tutor let me study Thermal Imagine
« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2019, 10:47:20 am »
Imaging*?

Tim
i know nothing about Thermal Image, even how to spell it

• Regular Contributor
Re: Why my tutor let me study Thermal Image
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2019, 02:26:45 pm »
Thermal imaging is a powerful tool for diagnosing power electronics (you did say PSU).
It allows you to see heat generation and dissipation easily, to help you diagnosing circuit misbehaving and thermal design flaws.

Contrary to common belief, thermal imaging is not just pointing a thermal camera at a board. There are tricks and traps that are worth learning.