Not really, you see "Gluten-free" labels on things that never had gluten. Same for "low-carb" labels. It's marketing bs.
Although on the Gluten-free, it depends on the preparation conditions, the plant may be running Gluten containing products on the same line etc. There are a lot of 'may contain' products out there for that reason. Not a problem for the 'choice' people but a real pain in the ass for those of us with medical restrictions (coeliac). The same applies for severe eggs, nuts etc reactions, it's a matter of production 'hygene', or should I say, lazy cross contamination control.