Author Topic: how does one stop a bogus or misguided kickstarter campaign?  (Read 7781 times)

Offline SteveLyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I'm asking about this (see below), which as a physicist I know is either bogus or misguided or both. One of the campaign organisers posted about it on my fave amateur astronomy website IceInSpace:

https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/20-17-moonwalker-the-boots-that-redefy-gravity--5#/

It's total nonsense but people are getting sucked in. I hate seeing this sort of thing.
« Last Edit: June 14, 2016, 02:31:22 pm by SteveLy »

Offline Xenoamor

• Regular Contributor
Re: how to stop a bogus or misguided kickstarter campaign?
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2016, 11:57:55 am »
It even says on their timeline they've only done market research

The following users thanked this post: mtdoc

Offline Kean

• Supporter
  • Embedded systems & IT consultant
    • Kean Electronics
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2016, 01:19:07 pm »

Offline edy

• Super Contributor
    • DevHackMod Channel
« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2016, 01:23:05 pm »
Sadly it will be an endlessly laborious job trying to stop an IGG campaign. You can report it, you can donate $1 to allow you to comment but soon you'll get banned. The best thing you can do is blog about it, post YouTube videos and just make your criticism and skepticism leave a big enough footprint so you show up in Google searches. Use scientific arguments and people may listen.

One day after much frustration you will come to realize that people who want to throw their money away on garbage will do so despite any arguments, no matter how solid, against it. Then you become another passive observer laughing at the suckers. You know at the end of the day it is a first world problem and if you have money to spend on IGG moon shoes I don't think $100 down the drain is going to make much of a difference to the suckered backers. It is a very inexpensive lesson to them.