Author Topic: Suspicious changes in price from PCBway (resolved!)  (Read 1772 times)

Offline getafixxTopic starter

Suspicious changes in price from PCBway (resolved!)
« on: July 28, 2022, 07:09:32 pm »
Hi all,

I wanted to bring this to attention here, as it's something I've noticed happen a few times to me over the last few orders from PCBway. At first I thought I was just mistaken, but this time I took screenshots!

Basically, what's happening is there is the price shown when you're checking out, with shipping + Paypal fees included (pic1). But once I click on "Place order", the next page shows a price that is over $20 higher, and I get charged PayPal fees AGAIN on the new price (pic2). That seems like robbery, to me. I've been using PCBway for several years, but I've only recently noticed this happening.

I've emailed PCBway support but have yet to receive a response.

** Edit: this has been resolved. See last post. **
« Last Edit: July 29, 2022, 03:16:22 pm by getafixx »

Offline thm_w

• Super Contributor
  • Non-expert
Re: Suspicious changes in price from PCBway
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2022, 08:08:58 pm »
Is there no charges breakdown in the second screenshot?
Profile -> Modify profile -> Look and Layout ->  Don't show users' signatures

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2022, 08:25:33 pm »
To PartialDischarge, why the immediate hostility? This is the same order. What would I possibly have to gain by lying about this? I'm not pushing a different manufacturer, or otherwise advertising anything. Geez.

To thm_w, there is no breakdown on the second page. Just the inflated order cost, and then the extra PayPal fee.

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2022, 12:37:26 pm »
I suspect it's currency conversion. Although both screenies show USD, according to OpenCalc 85USD is 109CAD, which is remarkably close.

Re: Suspicious changes in price from PCBway (resolved!)
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2022, 03:22:54 pm »