Author Topic: FPGA Altera Cyclone IV Development Kit vs FPGA Xilinx Spartan 6 Development Boar  (Read 11475 times)

Offline hussamaldeanTopic starter

• Supporter
Hi all,
Which board is best for beginners and learning FPGA ?

regards

Offline endevor100

• Contributor
When we were using DE2 board from Altera in school I found the simulator in their software to be barely (if at all) usable. Perhaps they've changed it since then, but I would download the software and try it before buying a board. For what it's worth the Cyclone FPGAs worked fine, we just programmed them first and then saw what happened with no simulation. Couldn't tell you if Xilinx is any better or worse because I have no experience with them.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
It largely comes down to the development software, overall I find the Altera software a bit nicer, however Xilinx ISE has a better simulator IMO. Both FPGAs have similar features and use roughly the same code. It would help to know precisely what sort of stuff you want to do with it though.

Offline Daixiwen

• Frequent Contributor
The simulator build in Altera's Quartus has never been good and if possible it better to use Modelsim instead. It's a lot more powerful, but has this typical Mentor Graphics unfriendly user interface so it needs some getting used to.
As for choosing between both kits, I agree that if you can you should download the software from both Altera and Xilinx, try to create a simple project and see which one you are the most comfortable with.

I'd avoid Altera's SoC platforms for now if you are a beginner. Altera's documentation for the software side of SoC is still crap and you need do try things a lot by yourself. The Cylcone IV platform is fine though, and you'll find a lot of docs and tutorials.

Offline marshallh

• Supporter
    • retroactive