Author Topic: How to drive wheel on FPGA?  (Read 1152 times)

Offline NobikaNgTopic starter

• none
How to drive wheel on FPGA?
« on: April 30, 2024, 10:17:59 am »
hello all, I am a beginner of VHDL, and I would like to implement a obstacal detection car by using ZedBoard.

Now, the biggesr problem that I encouter is drving the wheels and IP block design.

Let me describe my project first:

The car detect the obstacle by RCWL-1601​(a ultrasonic sensor) and the car will detemine to turn direction or go forward by checking whether the distance between the car and obstacle is larger than certain value. I would like to implement these by using ARM visit because I think C code should more easy to do this but I feel confused about the ip block desgin and don't know how to start it.

Moreover, based on my knowledge from other embedded system, I need control the signal of the servo so that I can control the wheels, but I don't know how to do this in FPGA.

Also, I am using ZedBoard which can only supply 3.3 V, so I would like to know is there any suitable servo that can be used?

Offline pcprogrammer

• Super Contributor
Re: How to drive wheel on FPGA?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2024, 10:59:47 am »
Hi and welcome to the forum.

Why would you want to do this project on a ZedBoard that has way to much resources for this small task that is best run on a simple microcontroller.

But to get you started with this on the ZedBoard you have to understand what the hardware offers you. Besides the FPGA it has a dual core ARM Cortex-A9 to run your code on. To use this core you will have to either dive into the manuals or search for projects that do this and use them as examples.

Search for "linux on zynq 7020" to get loads of information. Or take a look at the resources on this site.