Author Topic: Open source FPU with 1 cycle performance  (Read 6147 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Open source FPU with 1 cycle performance
« on: March 04, 2020, 11:30:55 am »
Hi,
I'm using FPU100 core from opencores for now,
https://opencores.org/projects/fpu100
It's good for now,But I take a look at ARM Cortex M4 FPU and it can do most things in 1 or 2 clock cycles and it's divide would take about 14 clock cycles, I want to know what better open source options do we have? how much space and resources deos ARM used?
I think if we could do it with  few DSP blocks and less than 1000 LE blocks to achieve it, it can be very useful.

what cores do you use for Doing float callculations, I know that you may say that we do not do it in FPGA and we should use fixed point, But I just want to study it.
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Open source FPU with 1 cycle performance
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2020, 12:01:18 pm »
Have you tried RISC-V?

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2020, 12:16:20 pm »
Have you tried RISC-V?
Where can I get the HDL codes?

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2020, 01:07:59 pm »
You can try riscv.org, sifive.com and https://github.com/chipsalliance/Cores-SweRV

More information about the RISC-V implementation at Western Digital: https://blog.westerndigital.com/risc-v-swerv-core-open-source/

Offline SiliconWizard

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2020, 05:40:29 pm »
I may be wrong, but I'm not sure the WD open source implementation contains any FPU this far ( https://github.com/chipsalliance/Cores-SweRV indeed )