Author Topic: Video Hex Editing Possibilities  (Read 2187 times)

Offline VeditorTopic starter

Video Hex Editing Possibilities
« on: March 06, 2024, 07:35:44 pm »
Hey everyone,

I'll give my question first, then context after.
My question: Is it possible to change an MP4 video file's "cover art" / "thumbnail" (the image you see that represents a video in the file explorer) IN the hex code, or in a hex editor?

I'm a video editor and there are times I want to change the "cover image" or "thumbnail" of a video, but the only way to change it that I've found is to own a MAC as they have a quick and easy means of drag and drop to change it  |O
So I started looking into hex editing and saw that an "ftyp" atom exists, which was described in the video as essentially the header info for a video file (please correct me if I'm wrong I've only watched some 3 videos on the topic).

Which makes me curious if I can just change a couple values in the hex code. The image itself will always be a screenshot or still image FROM the video, so can't I just change where it choses the screenshot/still image in the video?

Example: I have a video that's 15 seconds long, the video thumbnail in file explorer shows what the frame at 5 seconds in is, but I want it to be the frame at 10 seconds in. Is this a possible thing to do?

If so I would greatly appreciate any assistance in the matter as this is a field I'm ignorant of. I'm good at researching, but lack the experience you all have.

Offline thephil

• Regular Contributor
    • Techbotch
Re: Video Hex Editing Possibilities
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2024, 07:52:13 pm »
I know too little about the MP4 format to answer your actual question (can it be done with a hex editor) but I do remember that FFmpeg can add thumbnails:

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/54717175/how-do-i-add-a-custom-thumbnail-to-a-mp4-file-using-ffmpeg

Maybe that's enough to get what you need?
It's never too late to have a happy childhood!