Author Topic: Repairing a scrapped Fluke/Philips PM3082 Oscilloscope  (Read 3416 times)

Offline dmlTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Repairing a scrapped Fluke/Philips PM3082 Oscilloscope
« on: July 28, 2018, 01:38:30 pm »
Hello.

I'm new here. 50% n00b and 50% hobbyist since I was about 9. My day job is not and has never been EE. This is not a guide to repairing anything. This is a long post. End of disclaimers!

So a while back I picked up a couple of Philips scopes - a PM3392 and a PM3082. The 3392 was to replace the USB DSO I had been using for some hobby stuff, and don't really enjoy using all that much. I wanted a standalone analog unit. The 3082 was practically scrap - a donor unit for knobs and encoders / front panel stuff for the main scope.

The PM3392 had some front panel issues but generally worked ok. I lucked out on a second source for the broken panel elements and had it fully working before the 3082 arrived. So... I decided to try and *fix* the 3082, either to have a second scope or maybe hack it into something fun like a curve tracer or some other project.

The PM3082 'journey' is the the subject of this post :) And it was a journey. I'm writing this up in the hope it saves someone else from making a few mistakes. I'll point out quickly that the unit was sold for parts and claimed 'may have parts missing'. I agree that could mean anything - and indeed it did.

I link some images here crammed with annotations. This is mainly to save linking extra pics of the same stuff in some cases.

So after a quick inspection and a quick belching-flames-power-up test, it seemed like the tube would not light. No whine from the flyback but some activity in low voltage rails. The 5v rail had some life at least and I think the front panel had power (maybe a LED).