Author Topic: New to measuring resistance standards with my 3456a  (Read 3609 times)

Offline valley001Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
New to measuring resistance standards with my 3456a
« on: November 15, 2020, 01:23:13 am »
Hi all,

Having fun here with my old test gear.  I have an ancient 10 ohm resistance standard purchased on ebay and I would like to measure it with as much precision as my 3456a can provide.  Below is my setup.

display 6 digits
100 power line cycles
4 wire
OC Ohms is on (does this cancel the lead resistance?)

I am using copper wire between the standard and the meter, fastened directly to the 3456a inputs and the scree terminals of the standard. 

I am getting a reading  09.9974  the last digit bounces a bit between 3-5 or so.  Last calibration on the resistance standard (if the sticker is to be believed) was in 1972 and indicated 9.9928 ohms. 

Does all this sound reasonable?  I am a total noob at precision resistance measuring.   

« Last Edit: November 15, 2020, 01:28:59 am by valley001 »

Online CatalinaWOW

• Super Contributor
Re: New to measuring resistance standards with my 3456a
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2020, 01:45:50 am »
Assuming you used the 100 ohm scale and had 6 digit precision set, the spec allows 6.4 mOhm error 90 days after calibration (.004% of reading +24 counts of 100 microohms), and an additional 0.0004% for each additional 90 days since calibration.  If yours have been far longer than that, like mine, I would say your readings are entirely reasonable.  In fact, assuming the calibration standard is right, you are still within the 90 day spec. 

Of course you have no idea how close the standard is since it is so long since it has been calibrated and you have no idea of the intervening history.  It would be a coincidence if both your meter and the standard are out in the same direction and magnitude, but it is certainly possible.  Welcome to volt nuttery.

The following users thanked this post: valley001