Author Topic: Outline Requirements for a DIY GPSDO  (Read 4970 times)

Offline Gandalf_SrTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Outline Requirements for a DIY GPSDO
« on: November 13, 2019, 12:52:08 pm »
I have an old Trimble-based GPSDO and have recently been experimenting with a Ublox MAX8 GPS module. I'm an EE designer and have not got much work at the moment so I thought I'd pursue the idea of a PCB that would be a GPSDO so the fundamental blocks would be:

1. GPS/GNSS receiver
2. Oscillator, VCXO or VCTCXO
3. PLL with microcontroller providing UI perhaps via LH or terminal
4. Buffer/distribution amplifier

I have the idea that the PCB could be designed to accommodate a high end or medium end specification e.g. there could be 2 overlapping footprints for VCTCXOs.  I don't want to reinvent the wheel so if there are obvious building-block components that y'all could recommend, I'm listening.

I'll leave this first post clear so that I can come back and place the design decisions here.

So please chip in with ideas and suggestions with simple justification.
If at first you don't succeed, get a bigger hammer

• Super Contributor
Re: Outline Requirements for a DIY GPSDO
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2019, 12:58:41 pm »
VCTCXO

OK, the heart of this is the oscillator.  Lars Walenius design seems a good reference point to work from, he says that the Connor-Winfield DOT050V-010.0M available from Digikey for about $28 is pretty good and would fit my idea of a mid-range device.  Any comments?

Offline edpalmer42

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2019, 06:47:25 pm »
Do you see this as being a turnkey system or a platform for experimentation?  Turnkey would be simpler, but a platform would be more fun.  ;)

A platform suggests things like optional external oscillators, frequency dividers, lots of user options, etc.

Ed

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2019, 07:31:45 pm »