Author Topic: Prema 6048 / GPIB comms?... Or maybe general thread on GPIB readings harvesting  (Read 6054 times)

Offline RaxTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Every time I'm trying to hop on the train of "automated readings" with my current instrumentation, I'm hitting a wall where every single granular issue I need to sort out to make this work opens at least five other tracks of research. I'm not sure exactly what the math of that is, but definitely hyper divergent and non-conducive. I thought I'd start a thread, maybe others in my position may benefit from the input given here by others having walked this path.

Some of my limitations are below. Possibly many in this community have the same as I do.
  • I'm not a coder. I can sweat and scratch my head until bleeding a little bit and that'd be OK, but heavy lifting in the coding world, if anything, may be too deep a rabbit hole to make it feasible with my hobbyist time allotment (for one).
  • There are a few components involved. Ideally, I'd connect a GPIB adapter such as an NI interface (fairly affordable), and that would then hook up to my bench computer over USB. Then, there'd be some way to harvest, store/organize/compile/compound, then output in some sort of way this data. Both tabulated and plotted in graphs would be ideal.
  • So the issue of some sort of software able to talk to the GPIB adapter is a must. Ideally, it'd be agnostic of the instrument itself, though I really have no idea if this is fantasy. For myself, a way to then just make the Prema talk to all the rest is essential.

Does this sound like a reasonable list? Have I at least enumerated most, if not all, of the parts of this conundrum?

All I've been able to accomplish along these lines is to make a 34401A work over RS232 with "Test Controller." A while back, I've used an 8903A with an Agilent 82357B adapter with some free code written by a guy.