Author Topic: Global variables - Evil or not  (Read 7612 times)

Offline JesterTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Global variables - Evil or not
« on: October 20, 2022, 05:47:08 pm »
Context:
1) I'm not a programmer I just dabble in C and c++ to a small extent.
2) Embedded application running on a smallish uC for example a small sub module in a automobile, for example: bool wipersOn = false;

I appreciate a global variable in some large program for some large company for example American Airlines would probably be a really bad idea.

The moment you google "global variable" half the comments are DON'T DO IT you will burn in hell.

I have used global variables forever and have never had any issues. Am I missing something?

Offline JPortici

• Super Contributor
Re: Global variables - Evil or not
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2022, 05:58:48 pm »
most of my global variables are actually global so that i can inspect them at any time (so are declared global for convenience)
a little few are actually global so they can be accessed easily, but they always are written by one process, read by many... or the processes that can perform a write are not preempted so there is no chance that two writes happen simultaneously.

The problem as i understand it is when the global variable is read while it's being written too, or it can be written by two or more actors. Especially if the read/write is not atomic (think reading/writing 32bit on a 8/16 bit machine) If you can make it sure that it doesn't happen, then no issue for me.
the DON'T DO IT is because too many programmers don't understand this simple concept (with not so simple consequences)
And writing accessory functions can have other benefits as well, such as including the range check for the new value

Some times you cannot escape from globals anyway (shared memory, memory at fixed locations, ...)

The following users thanked this post: Jester

Offline Mechatrommer

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...