Author Topic: How to debug microcontrollers in the "real world"?  (Read 10420 times)

Offline ksovieroTopic starter

• Contributor
How to debug microcontrollers in the "real world"?
« on: July 21, 2020, 04:40:40 pm »
I've been using Arduinos for a while now, but I want to start using AVRs directly without the "crutch" of Arduino.

One of the issues I've run into is debugging my programs when programming them with an ISP. How does one get feedback when using an ISP, they don't have any kind of serial interface.

For example, with Arduino, I'd just print stuff to the screen using the serial interface and that would give me visibility into what it's doing. How would I replicate that workflow with an ISP?

Thanks!

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor
  • Yes, I do this for a living
Re: How to debug microcontrollers in the "real world"?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2020, 04:46:29 pm »
I've been using Arduinos for a while now, but I want to start using AVRs directly without the "crutch" of Arduino.

One of the issues I've run into is debugging my programs when programming them with an ISP. How does one get feedback when using an ISP, they don't have any kind of serial interface.

For example, with Arduino, I'd just print stuff to the screen using the serial interface and that would give me visibility into what it's doing. How would I replicate that workflow with an ISP?

Thanks!

Modern microcontrollers come with JTAG or SWD (for ARM) or C2 (for SiLabs micros) or other debug interfaces which connect to a debug pod which connects to your computer, and the computer runs a source-level debugger which allows setting breakpoints, watching registers and variables and all sorts of goodies.

We used to use "print to terminal" back when that was all that was available.

The biggest fail of Arduino is not exposing the micro's debug port.

That said, I still toggle port pins in ISRs and monitor them on an oscilloscope.

Offline Bassman59

• Super Contributor