Author Topic: Need pointers for developing an ARM-based development board  (Read 917 times)

Offline DefectiveDiodeTopic starter

Need pointers for developing an ARM-based development board
« on: September 09, 2019, 04:36:47 pm »
I've been working on a digital music synthesizer the past few months and have hit a road block: the MCUs I'm using are not powerful enough

I've been using Arduinos, Blue Pills, and an STM Nucleo board ( F722ZE to be specific). I've ran into issues with the amount of RAM and Flash that I have to use.

After browsing Digikey for something a bit beefier, I found the STM32F765VGT6(https://www.digikey.com/product-detail/en/stmicroelectronics/STM32F765VGT6/497-16630-ND/6137841). It interested me due to its speed and increased memory compared to everything I've been using.

However, it only comes in a chip instead of a development board so I would have to make a board to use and program it. I'm an electrical engineering student in my last year and think this would be a great project to learn, but I need some tips/help. Here's a few questions I have:

Besides voltage regulators and passive components, is there anything else I should note being necessary?

Are there any other guides out there that assist newbies in making ARM- related boards?

Do the JTAG programming pins connect directly to pins or do they require another IC to manipulate the data?

Is there specific pins that require passives that other pins don't need?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Offline Sal Ammoniac

• Super Contributor
Re: Need pointers for developing an ARM-based development board
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2019, 04:44:58 pm »
Check out this app note; it answers most of your questions.

https://www.st.com/resource/en/application_note/dm00164549.pdf
Complexity is the number-one enemy of high-quality code.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2019, 04:46:17 pm »
Pin count matters so I may be way off...