Author Topic: STM32 first project  (Read 8334 times)

Offline panossTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
STM32 first project
« on: October 24, 2019, 12:07:56 pm »
In a few days I'm planning to start building a project with STM32F030F4P6. (it 's just an STM32F030F4P6, not a development board)
It 's a starting LED blink project as it 's my first time I 'll try anything with an STM32 MCU.
I want to use the internal oscillator, not any external crystal.
I have installed STM32CubeMX and Atollic TrueSTUDIO.
As a programmer I 'll be using an ST-LINK V2.

I 'm trying to make a step by step tutorial for my self.  :P

So my first concern is the hardware: I 'm going to make a breakout board and connect it this way with the ST-Link:
ST-LINK.....STM32F030F4P6
RST.........NRST
SWDIO.....SWDIO
SWCLK.....SWCLK
3.3V........VDD
GND........VSS

(the STM32F030F4P6 will be getting powered from the ST-LINK)

Is this the correct way to connect them?

Offline capt bullshot

• Super Contributor
    • Mostly useless stuff, but nice to have: wunderkis.de
Re: STM32 first project
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2019, 12:17:08 pm »
Connect VDDA to VDD also, and don't forget the decoupling caps. I'd recommend a combination of a few 100n ceramic ones and an additional tantalum or electrolytic cap (10uF ... 47uF) in parallel, this helps with ringing on the supply line, especially if you get the supply from that ST-Link clone (or a real one too). Wouldn't matter much if you're just blinking an LED, but you'll probably notice the difference when you start using the ADC.

Read the datasheet to determine if you can leave BOOT0 open or need to add a pull-up or pull-down. The MCU starts an internal bootloader instead of your program if you do that wrong (can't tell this without reading the datasheet, so this is your part). Otherwise looks good.

Edit: The original ST-Link won't supply your board, the 3V3 pin is just a sense input. Don't know if the clone does.