Author Topic: Windows Freeware GUI for Si5351A DIY Function Generator? Solved  (Read 2556 times)

Offline t1dTopic starter

• Super Contributor
I would like to create a function generator, using an Adafruit Si5351A module. There are lots of projects that use an Arduino, a display and various buttons and knobs to set the outputs. I would prefer to interface with the module with my old Windows XP laptop, via USB. Why not get some more use out of it?

I am not a strong coder and creating such a GUI is out of my depth. (I know that there are on-line GUI configurers, but that seems dangerous.) So, I am hoping someone can point me in the proper direction. I did not find anything in my searches. I really don't even know the proper coding terms to use to do a good search.

Here's what I envision:
Windows XP/GUI
via USB to
MCU (Arduino [UNO, Classic Nano, or Every] or older PIC [12F, 16F, 18F. I have a PIC18F4550 demo board with USB that I DIY'd.])
via I2C to
Si5351A Module
Anybody know of such a GUI?

I will also need help with the MCU libraries and code. I have the needed programmers and can manage to flash the MCU.

Thank you for your help.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2023, 01:47:09 am by t1d »

Offline PCB.Wiz

• Super Contributor
Re: Windows Freeware GUI for Si5351A DIY Function Generator?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2023, 08:51:46 am »
I would like to create a function generator, using an Adafruit Si5351A module. There are lots of projects that use an Arduino, a display and various buttons and knobs to set the outputs. I would prefer to interface with the module with my old Windows XP laptop, via USB. Why not get some more use out of it?
via USB to MCU ... older PIC [12F, 16F, 18F. I have a PIC18F4550 demo board with USB that I DIY'd.])  via I2C to  Si5351A Module

Why not take the path most travelled ?
If there is already working code on Ardunio, you really just need to use the existing serial pathway, to replace/emulate the manual entry schemes.