Author Topic: What's your favorite language feature?  (Read 13390 times)

Offline Mattjd

• Regular Contributor
Re: What's your favorite language feature?
« Reply #75 on: June 26, 2020, 12:02:30 am »
I think the missing delimiters and significance of whitespace bit me once or twice the first couple days I used Python. That ended after I banished tabs and turned on Python mode: in the same old editor I have been using for the last forty years.
Just to be clear, my Python code works just fine. And I use IDLE, straight out of the Python distribution, so it's not an "editor thing".

It's in reading and (especially) debugging, and especially when it's someone else's code, that Python's block delimiter mistake becomes very apparent. There's just no way that the visual absence of something is as clear and quick to recognize. This is particularly bad with nested loops. One of the things I had to write in Python recently was some matrix manipulation code, and the nested loops where a pain for everyone on the team. I lost count of the number of times one or more of us was carefully examining a line of code in the wrong loop because the visibility of the indent level was affected by your angle to the screen - if you weren't straight in front of a monitor it became very easy to misjudge which indent level you were tracking by eye. Utter insanity! And so easily avoided, as has been done in other languages for decades. This was a completely avoidable error in language design.

It also doesn't help, if you're going to rely on whitespace, that the default indent is just four spaces. I like tight indenting when block delimiters are in use, but when whitespace on the screen is all you've got, four little spaces makes things just that much harder. Particularly in a team environment and it's not YOUR screen so you're off-axis.