Author Topic: Bitbang JTAG from standalone microcontroller IO  (Read 3868 times)

Offline steaky1212Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Steaky - Sleep is overrated
Bitbang JTAG from standalone microcontroller IO
« on: May 20, 2013, 06:23:15 pm »
Hi,

I'm in the process of designing a test rig, and wanted to get 100% test coverage.
The test rig acts as a GO/NOGO for the unit under test, and has a load of IO to verify UUT operation.

I've gone as far as functional test on what the unit is supposed to do, but I've only checked that the interfaces work in isolation, not that they dont interfere with neighbouring IO - hence the need to use the JTAG interface for a boundary scan.

The device in question is an XPLA3 Xilinx Coolrunner, and I wanted to go through the process of setting a pin high and making sure that neighbouring pins didnt go high too. I have limited experience driving JTAG (using urJTAG), and was wondering if anyone had implemented something similar.

I've tried having a look through the urJTAG source to see how they drive various parallel port JTAG interfaces, but come up empty. I've got a copy of the JTAG state machine, but I'm missing the link between that, and how to actually manipulate pins.

Can anyone help, or point me in the right direction?

Thanks,

Steaky

Just to clarify, the hardware already exists, and I only have 4 IO from a large microcontroller to drive the CPLD JTAG port in Boundary Scan mode
« Last Edit: May 20, 2013, 06:26:23 pm by steaky1212 »

Offline abyrvalg

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Bitbang JTAG from standalone microcontroller IO
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2013, 10:09:37 pm »
Hi,