Author Topic: Educational function generator kit  (Read 39057 times)

Offline c4757pTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • adieu
Educational function generator kit
« on: September 28, 2013, 11:42:36 pm »
OK, I mentioned this a few times - here's the proper thread on this. I'll update this thread as I go.

I am building an educational analog function generator kit. This will have an in-depth manual that not only gives a step-by-step procedure to build the kit, but also teaches how all of the analog circuits work. This instructional part will contain everything from how a capacitor works to the Gilbert cell circuit used for amplitude modulation. The target audience is not complete beginners: I'm not going to dwell on ultra-introductory topics like conventional current and whatnot, this is for either people who have built a couple circuits before, or are handy with a search engine and don't mind having to do a bit of extracurricular research. It's also not for the faint of heart; the hardware will include SMD parts down to 0603.

Features of the function generator will be: sine, square and triangle waveforms with adjustable duty cycle and frequency from 0.1 Hz to 5 MHz, frequency modulator, amplitude modulator, two auxiliary signal sources to feed the modulator (one generating sawtooth with precision min and max and variable slope, the other generating sine/square up to 100 kHz), and a digital readout giving selectable outputs: freq, duty cycle, Vp-p, Vrms, Vmin, Vmax, Voffset, dBm, dBV. It will be able to be built and tested with just a 20 MHz oscilloscope and a multimeter, and will be built in parts rather than one huge PCB to allow easier testing and troubleshooting. The modular nature will allow the addition of other features as well (I'm currently considering a PLL, which can lock to an external input or to a digital frequency synthesizer for precise control. Not sure - what do you think?)