Author Topic: Is there any glaring mistake in this Neon Bargraph Driver PCB?  (Read 508 times)

Offline zlaurinTopic starter

• Contributor
Hello,

I am a hobbyist this is my second time designing a PCB and my first time designing a high voltage PCB (It has both 5V and 150V DC) and I was wondering if anyone could take a quick look at what I've got and tell me if I made any mistake? It's a driver circuit for the IN-13 Neon Bargraph Nixie tube. It requires 150V and lights up proportionally to the current on it's indicating cathode pin in a range of 0 to ~4.5ma. I'm getting the 150V from a step up DC-DC converter (A Nixie tube power supply I got on eBay).

Here is the schematic. The right part is a very common circuit to drive it I found online. The resistors I'm using are 1206 resistors and the potentiometer is a ST-4. Both are rated for 200V and 0.25W. The left part is a DAC to generate an analog voltage (and it's I2C with 8 addresses so I can have 8 PCBs total to make a spectrum analyzer or something like that) and an op amp.

Here is the PCB. I'm not really sure what to do for voltage creepage / clearance. All driver components are on the bottom and all 5V components on the top. All 150V and 5V traces on the same layer are at least 1mm apart however some are superimposed on top of one another across layers. I tried putting as much of the 5V components and traces on top of the resistors but the SDA, SCL and transistor base traces overlap with the transistor emitter trace. There's also a 0R jumper resistor because I couldn't figure out how to route it without it. All traces are either 0.25mm or 0.4mm.

Here are some renders of it with the component models. Also I forgot to mention it but the ground plane is only in the corner of the board where the components with a pin connected to ground actually are and the clearance between the ground plane and the traces is 0.7mm.