Author Topic: STM32 using TouchGFX - Updating UI background image at runtime  (Read 424 times)

Offline ricko_ukTopic starter

• Super Contributor
### OP QUESTIONS REFINED ###

Hi,
I am new to STM32 so this might seem a basic question... I am thinking of using one to interface to this round touch display:
https://thepihut.com/products/3-4inch-dsi-round-touch-display-800x800   
and ideally use TouchGFX for the UI/code.

The application is a simple vending machine. In a nutshell, this is the main functionality:
- the unit in standby displays a static picture (an advert) and this picture needs to be updated by the local vending machine outlet through a USB pen drive or micro SD card (and needs to be a very simple process like insert the pen drive or uSD card then press a button to update)
- when the user (the person who wants to buy something) touches the display the next screen is displayed and they select the quantity
- then next screen appears prompting for payment and waiting for confirmation from the payment unit that the payment was succesfull
- the good is then dispensed

A couple of questions if someone could please help:
- is it possible to change the background image at runtime? If so, how?
- what format (file type) does the new image needs to be?

Thank you as always! :)

« Last Edit: May 21, 2024, 12:47:05 pm by ricko_uk »

Offline pcprogrammer

• Super Contributor
Re: STM32 using TouchGFX - Updating UI background image at runtime
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2024, 03:11:36 pm »
Another question you have to ask yourself about this display, is how it is interfaced. By the looks of what information is given on the website you linked to, it uses the display connector of the Raspberry PI and that means mipi lanes if I'm not mistaken. Not sure which STM32 MCU supports these.