Author Topic: LED Driver for Vision Engineering Lynx Dynascope C-073? + teardown  (Read 3995 times)

Offline alex912Topic starter

Can anyone recommend an off-the-shelf LED driver ~30V ~55W with PWM control, supporting an external thermistor, and ideally also with aux 12V output?

I have a Vision Engineering Lynx Dynascope 14-point LED light source (C-073) which needs a power supply. I'm new to LED drivers, so I'm probably missing a lot here. I'd love to find an off-the-shelf driver that can drive these LEDs, dim them easily, integrate with the existing thermistor in the heatsink, and even supply 12V to drive the fan. Ultimately driving the LEDs safely with dimming is the most important thing, so the other features are just nice-to-have.

The LED datasheet says that the forward voltage is 3.03-4.47V (3.7V typ) @ 700mA, and 3.9V @ 1000mA. It says the absolute max current is 1000mA, and that "Proper current derating must be observed to maintain junction temperature below the maximum". There are 2 strings of LEDs, each with 7 LEDs in series.

How do I spec out an LED driver for these?
  • I assume I need a constant-current driver with user-settable output current?
  • Can I use a driver with an absolute minimum voltage that's higher than the LED string forward voltage of ~27V?
  • Does this mean I can drive them at 1000mA but only as long as the temperature stays reasonable? Or should I just only plan on driving them to 700mA as a max?
  • For one string of 7 LEDs in series, I need a driver capable of outputting at least 3.9V*7=27.3V and 1000mA.
  • For two strings in parallel, >=27.3V @ 2000mA =~ 55W driver.

I've found a few possible candidates, but I'm not sure if I'm going down the wrong path:
Any help would be very appreciated. Thanks!

-----

Teardown & reverse engineering pics follow, in case it might help anyone in the future. I may have made mistakes here, so no guarantees! :)