Author Topic: Another Dead Samsung Plasma TV  (Read 4844 times)

Offline a1k3m1Topic starter

Another Dead Samsung Plasma TV
« on: February 09, 2015, 01:36:14 pm »
Hey dudes, my first post in this forums. :-+
My question probably sounds quite newbie, But im just starting to learn electronics.

Ive got a Samsung Plasma TV (Model #: PS50C451B2D) which has done the common clicking Relay power board issues, So from some reading the issue is most likely some bad capacitors, as most have said, So I have gone around the Electrolytic Caps with a multimeter, and most of them look to be okay.

Except for one, There is a Cap which is rated at 3300uF @ 10Volts, and when I measure it in circuit with my Fluke 87V I get a reading of 3868uF.. Is this in spec of the Electrolytic Caps?. or could this be my problem?.. Im not quite up there with the working of Capacitors so im not sure, hopefully somebody could easily fill me in..

Thanks heaps!.

Offline cs.dk

• Supporter
Re: Another Dead Samsung Plasma TV
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2015, 02:09:33 pm »
Welcome to the forums.
You can't measure dead caps with a multimeter.. It's not the capacity thats the problem, it's the ESR. Often the caps are bulged on top, thats a dead giveaway.

Caps are usually +/- 20% or so in rating.

Offline janoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2015, 10:16:50 pm »

You also shouldn't measure the caps in circuit using a multimeter - that won't give you accurate results.

You need an ESR meter instead - the cap may measure ok when measuring capacitance, but its ESR is so high that it doesn't work anymore for filtering the high ripple from the switching PSU. Bulging and leaking caps are an obvious giveaway, but not all bad caps will bulge and leak before the device stops working, so don't rely on that - an OK looking cap could still be bad.

Dave did a video on this:
http://www.eevblog.com/2012/10/06/eevblog-365-esr-meter-bad-cap-monitor-repair/

Offline mswhin63

• Frequent Contributor