Author Topic: Astral Pool Robot SMPS exploded - some repair guidance sought  (Read 1735 times)

Offline Lorenzo_1Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Astral Pool Robot SMPS exploded - some repair guidance sought
« on: October 12, 2019, 02:45:58 am »
The control unit for my Astral pool robot expired recently with a loud bang immediately after being connected to power.  Pictures show visible damage on SMPS and microcontroller board.  I’ve annotated the reverse side with the main primary side components and added blue lines where black mask obscures the traces or there’s ambiguity. Some primary side components are hidden by heatsinks.

I’m no expert on SMPS but it looks like this unit uses some of the design elements found in this link - https://datasheet.octopart.com/EVAL6599-400W-T-STMicroelectronics-datasheet-148140.pdf.  It has a sub-board with an L6599AD controller specific to series-resonant half bridge configuration, an L6563 PFC controller and the blown IC turns out to be a Viper12A.  The blown cap was 50V 47uF.  The board outputs 28V to drive the robot and has a 5V three-pin regulator (IC2) supplying the power switch, LED etc (some models have fancier display panel options). Haven’t found a schematic etc for this board.

I have a few questions before I try and repair it:

What is the likely cause? Perhaps indeterminable but might help pin down other components to check.

Do I need to strip components out and clean the board really thoroughly, or will a good was down with circuit board cleaner, IPA etc suffice?

Blown diode D2 is marked A6 and seems likely to be a BAS16. It has an open triangle with T inside as Mfr mark, but I couldn’t tie this down.  Would a BAS16 suit here? R20 looks damaged but reads OK at 1kOhm, consistent with some evaluation circuits I’ve found.