Author Topic: Broken Capacitor  (Read 3094 times)

Offline SuperShermanTankerTopic starter

• Contributor
Broken Capacitor
« on: May 12, 2016, 01:00:37 pm »
So yesterday I was installing a new GPU into my computer and the old one got stuck as I was taking the old one out and riped out a capacitor on my motherboard and I was wondering what type of capacitor and specification of capacitor do I need to replace the one on my computer's motherboard.
PS: I'm a total noob to soldering and replacing board components this I am familiar with computers but not so much with the actual PCBs and components on the PCBs
« Last Edit: May 12, 2016, 02:39:32 pm by SuperShermanTanker »

• Contributor
Re: Broken Capacitor
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 02:42:51 pm »
Thanks and do you have any advice on soldering because I have never soldered anything before

Offline alsetalokin4017

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2016, 03:06:05 pm »
Thanks and do you have any advice on soldering because I have never soldered anything before

Hmm.... this is a hard component to start learning to solder with, because the pads are literally underneath the part, and the motherboard is a multilayer board that will suck heat away quickly as you try to melt the solder. Also, I'm worried that the capacitor may have taken the PC board pads with it when it came off.

Can you post a photo of the place on the motherboard where the cap was?
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2016, 03:22:13 pm »
The capacitor ripped off its pins so the pins the capacitor was on are stll there the old capacitor that fell off just has 2 holes in it where the pins were and the pins are sill on the board where the capacitor was

Offline alsetalokin4017

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2016, 03:25:25 pm »
Well, that's good news, sort of. Much better than having the pads ripped off for sure. Still would like to see a photo if you can arrange it.