Author Topic: Dead power supply in a Tek 2245A  (Read 2822 times)

Offline WattsThatTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Dead power supply in a Tek 2245A
« on: March 02, 2020, 01:13:33 am »
I have a nice 2245A that was my daily driver years back to about 2003. One morning it just didn’t turn on and the local Tek house said they were no longer supported or repaired. I replaced it with a TDS220 but I’ve never found it as usable as the 2245A. I could never bring myself to toss it and it’s been in storage ever since. Finally decided it was time in my life to start downsizing and do something with all the stuff that’s been accumulating so it’s on the bench. Downloaded the service manual and I’m just getting started.

The power supply is completely dead, no clicks, no noises but I can tell it’s rectifying line voltage and see initial current as it charges the primary side cap. Absolutely no voltages on the bottom board connector so I pulled the supply board out. It’s very clean, nothing burned, all semiconductors look okay on diode check and no shorted caps.

So it looks like it’s time to start some power on troubleshooting which leads me to the reason for my post - do I need to load anything to test this board out of the scope? I can find nothing in the service manual so it’s time to ask those who have been there, done that. Yes, it will be connected via a 500 va isolation transformer. But I don’t want to just plug it in and do more damage. Can anyone help with the correct configuration for proper board level testing?

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Dead power supply in a Tek 2245A
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2020, 02:39:00 am »
Most of what you need to know is in here:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/tektronix-2465b-oscilloscope-teardown/

Jump into this thread and ask the guys there and point them back to this thread if that best suits your needs.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist