Author Topic: PlaystationTV help  (Read 1895 times)

Offline MrwoodchuckTopic starter

• Contributor
PlaystationTV help
« on: July 25, 2021, 03:12:59 am »
Hi all,

so I am still learning things and trying to figure out diagnostics and could use a hand.

In this picture I have noted that I have 5v all the way up until after the bigger capacitor "or what I think is a cap" and the component marked 077A
1239211-0

I found that there is a short between ground and everything past those two components, which makes sense why it wont power up.
I am assuming that the part marked 077A is the culprit but its just a guess, I think its some kind of vrm?

Does anyone know what this part is? I have been searching and have come up with nothing.
1239213-1

Back side of the board in the same section.
1239215-2

Thanks for any help!

Offline sean0118

• Frequent Contributor
Re: PlaystationTV help
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2021, 04:09:45 am »
It's probably some kind of buck converter with an integrated mosfet and diode.

You could try to remove the inductor, the one with A8 printed on the top. With it removed you'll be able to measure if the short is in the buck, or if another component is pulling its output low, depending on which pad is 0 ohm with the inductor removed. It's common for ceramic capacitors to go short too, so if the problem is on the buck side it might not be the IC itself.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2021, 06:26:19 am »
Thank you for the reply,

I followed your advice, and everything was still shorted that was before.

so i removed the big cap that was next to the "buck converter" no change, removed the other two caps, no change.

lastly i removed the "buck converter" and nope no change.. all the path that i had highlighted yellow was still shorting to ground.

i was able to put everything back on but the inductor got damaged, i measured it before it fell apart and it was 2000 Microhenries, so at least i know what to buy.

but im not sure what to do next.