Author Topic: Radio Shack (Micronta) multitester model no. 22-216  (Read 9538 times)

Offline EritheBlaTopic starter

Radio Shack (Micronta) multitester model no. 22-216
« on: March 23, 2015, 10:10:10 pm »
Hi Guys,

Thanks for a great site with tons of info; did a search for my model, nothing from what I could tell.

I have a Radio Shack analog multitester, model 22-216. It is a good unit and has served me well these years. I'm not an electrician; more of a handyman who does a lot of different repairs and such.

The other day I went to do a voltage check. Instead I pulled the brain fart of the year (for me so far) and had the setting to "current." I know better, was just not paying attention ( :palm: :-\) When the terminals hit the (110 volts ac) power source, I heard the pop and saw the white flash.

I have included two photos, front and rear of unit. Notice the discoloration in the lower right corner of the reverse view.

I know I can always get a new tester, but this unit has sentimental value, and there aren't many of these around (I've looked). If I can fix it I will try, If not, oh well, them's the breaks.

Any ideas? Is there a service manual for this unit? Anyone run into this situation and do a fix? I suppose I could farm it out to get repaired ($$$, I know); any ideas on ballpark figures for a repair like this? I know it's a lower-end unit, but it might be worth it to get an estimate.

Just throwing some ideas out there to see what I can do.

Anything would be appreciated.

Thanks!

e

Offline bithead9

• Contributor
Re: Radio Shack (Micronta) multitester model no. 22-216
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 10:17:38 pm »
I'd check that FUSE under the red tape - just jump it to see if it works.  Just do not plug in the mains again to test  ;)

Offline bithead9

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2015, 10:18:32 pm »
LOOKS like they give you a SPARE near the battery too!  NICE.

« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2015, 01:12:56 am »