Author Topic: Train destination display - up and running  (Read 11183 times)

Offline jketterlTopic starter

• Contributor
Train destination display - up and running
« on: December 10, 2015, 09:57:40 pm »
Hello everybody,

I'm new to this forum and I'm sorry to be looking for help here already with my first post. I'm not sure this is the right place, but I really don't think there's many other sites out there that gather as many electronics enthusiasts and professionals as the EEVBlog does :)

I'm not really a newbie when it comes to electronics, soldering and stuff... I've been handling soldering equipment regularly for the past twenty years or so. But still, my experience with circuitry is pretty much limited to digital stuff, where there's either voltage or no voltage... I don't have much practical experience with analog circuits, which I believe is what I'm lacking in the given case.

What I have sitting on top of my bench right now is the drive motor assembly of a somewhat older train destination display that used to be installed on pretty much every station on the local subway / tube / underground (I'm not sure what term to use... we call it "U-Bahn" here) network here in Munich. I remember them myself until a few years ago, when they were successively replace with newer, modern LCD displays. The design of this unit might date back into the 1980s or even 70s (1971 was the year when the subway started operation in Munich; however I'm not sure if these displays were already in place back then).

The challenge, of course, is to get it working again in some kind of way... and that's where I'm lost. I can't really get the circuit at hand to work in any useful way, and my hope is that somebody here will recognize some pattern, or derive in any other way how to drive the inputs in order to make it work the way it's supposed to.