Author Topic: Agilent MSO7000: for or against?  (Read 5662 times)

Offline dfnr2Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Agilent MSO7000: for or against?
« on: August 19, 2012, 12:05:42 am »
I have a lecroy WavePro 7200A, which is the older generation of X-stream scope.  It's a phenomenal scope, with great triggering, built-in segmented memory, series-mode acquisition that moots the "high wfm" claims of other scopes, really great math/measurement capabilities (which are really useful for sensors, analog signal processing, and feedback / control applications).  I have been using this scope productively for about 2 years now.  My only beef with this scope is that sometimes it feels a bit unresponsive when I'm cranking on the knobs trying to chase a signal.

It's great for analog and RF work, and for a fair bit of simple embedded work (which is most of my embedded work), but it cannot keep pace with more complex embedded systems.  It has low-speed serial decode (uart, SPI, I2C) but no serial trigger.  The MSO options are limited (their MS-32 module)

Since the prices of the now-obsolete (but still serviceable) MSO7000A scopes have been coming down, I have been looking into these.  If I were to buy one, I would get the UART, SPI, I2C, max memory, segmented memory options, plus the measurement statistics+cursor/waveform updates.  That means I'd have to sell my LeCroy, trading down in some areas to gain in others. 

I have not had a chance to demo one yet, but I have seen these scopes praised and panned in some threads in this forum, by members that I believe are quite knowledgeable.   

So, I'm curious, can any forum members who have experience with these scopes suggest for or against the MSO7000A? 

Offline KTP

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Agilent MSO7000: for or against?
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2012, 12:42:48 am »
max memory comes free now on the 7000.