Author Topic: Users of the Haako FA-400 or Weller WSA350 Smoke Absorbers  (Read 6886 times)

Offline grahamreitzTopic starter

Users of the Haako FA-400 or Weller WSA350 Smoke Absorbers
« on: November 07, 2011, 08:27:06 pm »
Hello,

Are there users of the Haako FA-400 or Weller WSA350 units that could comment if it performs satisfactorily?  If it's another unit please interject.  I have no experience with any of the bench top devices

It's difficult to find reviews to help differentiate the two beyond price.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003ETBN9Q/ref=ox_sc_act_title_4?ie=UTF8&m=A2QE1R98UNI0YZ
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000EM74SK/ref=ox_sc_act_title_5?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Kindly,
Graham

Offline FenderBender

• Super Contributor
    • The Solid State Workshop
Re: Users of the Haako FA-400 or Weller WSA350 Smoke Absorbers
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2011, 10:50:26 pm »
Neither are worth $100+. A simple solution would be to get a large diameter PC fan. 140-250mm, mount it in a box, and put a HEPA filter behind it. And then holes on the other side of the filter for the exhaust.

Offline ciccio

• Frequent Contributor
  • Designing analog audio since 1977
    • Oberon Electrophysics
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2011, 09:03:47 am »
I have a similar one, but it is mostly un-useful:  for the smoke to be captured by the fan, the fan must be close to the soldering iron, and it will make your soldering job complicated. It will obstruct lighting and movement.
The "professional" systems use flexible pipes coming from a centralized aspirator system. The pipes are smaller and less obstructing.

I once bought a low cost (8 euros?) table lamp, 12 V ac from a transformer in the base , then removed the halogen lamp head and replaced it with a 80 mm pc fan, powered by the transformer, a diode and a series resistor.
It worked better than the dedicated unit (without any filter) to move the smoke away from my eyes and nose...