Author Topic: Making sense of this obscure RF module  (Read 2559 times)

Online igendelTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
    • It's Every Bit For Itself (Programming & MCU blog)
Making sense of this obscure RF module
« on: June 09, 2023, 09:58:14 am »
Hi all,

Someone gave me a box with a ~100 of these modules. No explanation or background were provided, and I have no Analog/RF background myself. The modules were probably in use, around 20 years ago.
To my highly un-trained eye it looks similar to those simple Chinese OOK rf receivers. I bet you know more and can shed light on this.

Here are my observations so far:

- To remove all doubt, the board has only two layers
- The three ground pins are easy enough to spot by looking at the back side. The pin farthest from the IC isn't connected to anything.
- All the the deep-green surfaces with the straight, blackened scratches are trimmed resistors, right?
- The IC is a TI TLC272 Dual OpAmp, so the pins from 1 to 8 are 1OUT, 1IN-, 1IN+, GND, 2IN+, 2IN-, 2OUT and Vdd.
https://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/tlc272.pdf

I removed one to see what's underneath.
The module's rightmost pins are therefore Vdd and Output (from 2OUT). What do the next three do? Are they used for threshold or some gain control by the carrier board?

- What does the third-from-left pin do? Above it are a capacitor(?) and then a transistor. Is this thing a transmitter too?

Thanks, I hope this post belongs here and not in the Complete Noob forum  ;D
Maker projects, tutorials etc. on my Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/idogendel/

Offline PA0PBZ

• Super Contributor
Re: Making sense of this obscure RF module
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2023, 10:38:58 am »