Author Topic: NanoVNA Custom Software  (Read 465336 times)

Offline joeqsmithTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Re: NanoVNA Custom Software
« Reply #800 on: March 19, 2021, 01:21:55 pm »
I've been playing around with the new 1.0 software that I plan to release shortly.  While searching the forums for some decent firmware that supports the original hardware,  I kept coming across posts where people have damaged their Nanos.   One person had bought 5 of them and 3 were damaged.   This video gives some of my thoughts on how to protect the front end.   It also shows off the new software.   

I finally received some much needed feedback on the manual and need to address that.  I am also seeing a small problem with the software or maybe it's firmware, that needs to be corrected.  Things are starting to come together.   

Offline DrNefario

• Contributor
« Reply #801 on: March 19, 2021, 05:32:14 pm »
I have been using my Original NanoVNA since December 2019 now and have gone through several FW loads.  I am now on edy555's v 0.8.0 and am quite happy with it and mostly use it on the bench with NanoVNA-Saver.  This is the latest FW version from edy555 and I don't know about others, but here are the features it has:

• Super Contributor
« Reply #802 on: March 19, 2021, 08:21:21 pm »
Any known problems with it?   

Offline DrNefario

• Contributor
« Reply #803 on: March 19, 2021, 11:45:08 pm »
In general I have not had any problems.  The github is at  https://github.com/ttrftech/NanoVNA and there is an issues list but some things seem more like a 'wish list'.
I have taken lots of data with the Nanovna-saver program including downloading S parameters and saving the cal sets.
I downloaded the binary that is listed as the latest: https://github.com/ttrftech/NanoVNA/releases/tag/0.8.0
Also, I am not a software type, but I did compile the master as listed and it did work OK, but not with the saver program.