Author Topic: Review of Deepace KC9531B USB RF Power sensor  (Read 637 times)

Offline mehdiTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Review of Deepace KC9531B USB RF Power sensor
« on: May 12, 2024, 08:19:21 pm »
I got a Deepace KC9531B USB RF Power meter for review, and I decided not only to do a review of the device, but also compare it to my other USB RF power meters from Mini Circuits and Anritsu, to see how this new product compares to more established brands and models (spoiler: I'm surprised how good it is for the price!)

Disclaimers:
1. I am not an RF expert. I work on automotive cybersecurity as a profession, and RF and ham radio are my hobbies, so I use and review devices from a security engineer/RF hobbyist perspective.
I also use RF T&M equipment in my job for things like antenna testing, modem testing, jamming and spoofing tests, etc. Please let me know if you find inaccuracies or areas of improvement in my approach to the review.
2. I am under no obligation from Deepace for this review. What you read is my honest unbiased review.

Intro
You need an RF power meter to measure the output power of a device that emits RF signals (e.g. a transmitter, or the output of an amplifier or attenuator). For example, if you measure a signal strength before and after an amplifier (in its input and output), and measure an increase (let’s say by 20dB), you’ll know if the amplifier is working as expected and according to the datasheet or not.

KC9531B
This is a newcomer to the RF power meter world. I know Deepace from their portable spectrum analyzers and VNAs.
The original retail price is $499, but currently is listed with ~20% off, selling for $385 on their website. It measures power for input signals from 100MHZ to 4GHZ, and the measurement range is -30dBm to +20dBm.
I was happy to find out it uses USB-C vs many other devices on the market that either use their proprietary connectors, or use older USB types like microUSB or USB type B.