Author Topic: Brymen 827? (more pictures added)  (Read 8879 times)

Offline anweTopic starter

Brymen 827? (more pictures added)
« on: October 29, 2013, 06:30:27 pm »
Hi, my name is Andreas, I'm new here.
I'm a hobbyist from Sweden, not too serious at the moment, but I hope to get more active in the near future.
I've watched the odd show or two before and always found them entertaining, but I got really hooked now that I was shopping around for a decent multimeter.
I've got a dying DVM891 that needs replacing and didn't feel like wasting money on something like that again, so this time around I did some research.

I first considered getting a Uni-T 61 or 71 locally, but looking at some of the videos, the lack of attention to safety and detail gave me second thoughts.
Then I saw the Brymen 257 (I think in the $100 shootout vid), and that looked like very good bang for the buck.

I went to tme.eu to pick one up only to find they were sold out.
Browsing around a little for other Brymens, I spotted an 827, which I hadn't heard of before, so I started looking into it a bit.
It's about €118, nearly the same as an 857A, and only about €20 more than the 257.
It looks to be somewhere in between the 257 and 857A feature/specs wise.

The full specs are available at http://www.brymen.com/product-html/cata820/BM820_Catalog.pdf

I couldn't find much of second opinions on the web for it, but looking at the positive response for other Brymens, I figured they have consistent quality and they seem to pay attention to detail.
After some debating with my self about the 257 vs 857A vs 827, I pulled the trigger on an 827. It's on it's way to me right now, so I haven't seen it in the flesh yet.
For my needs I felt the usability features (dual display mainly) on the 827 won over the better precision of the 857A.

The features/differences that stood out to me compared to the 257 and 857A were:
0.08% + 2 counts VDC
Bigger  than a 257 (208X103x65.4 mm)
Dual Display