Author Topic: Agilent 66309D: Using INHibit input on rear panel  (Read 623 times)

Offline IDEngineerTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Agilent 66309D: Using INHibit input on rear panel
« on: October 20, 2019, 10:20:20 pm »
I'm still learning all of the features of my new-to-me 66309D. Over the last couple of days I've been using its INH input on the rear panel to remotely switch the output voltage on and off. This is incredibly useful for long-term power cycling tests, which is exactly how I'm using it. But a display weirdness has cropped up that I can't explain.

I programmed a function generator to emit a 10 second period pulse train with a nine second active high period (90% duty cycle) and connected that output to the 66309D's INH input. Worked perfectly. The DUT was powered up for nine seconds (which allowed it to complete its bootup process), then powered down for one second, lather rinse repeat. I let it run this way for 48 hours and everything went great. When the INH signal was high, the 66309D's display showed the programmed voltage and consumed current; when the INH signal was low, the display dropped to ~zero V and A.

Here's the odd thing: During this 48 hour test, the ONLY display indication of INH activity was the displayed voltage and current changing.

Today, with that test done, I formalized the connections to the somewhat inconvenient to reach INH connector since I expect to be running tests like these quite often. I did so, hooked everything up, and the 66309D again worked as intended... but now when the output is turned off I get a "Prot" indication on the display in addition to the voltage/current dropping to ~zero.