Author Topic: Agilent DSOX2000A series vs Rigol DS2000A series  (Read 15265 times)

Offline ukee1593Topic starter

• Contributor
Agilent DSOX2000A series vs Rigol DS2000A series
« on: January 07, 2014, 12:36:37 am »
Hi everyone,

I'm about to buy a new oscilloscope and had my mind set on the Rigol DS2072A until I noticed the Agilent DSOX2000 series. 

At the moment I only have a real need for 70MHz in an oscilloscope, but I like the fact that the Rigol is upgradable (either unofficially at the moment, or officially via licence upgrades in the future).  But the Agilents offer a few nice things over the Rigols as well. 

Things which I am unsure about the Agilents;

- Educational Pricing;  I've heard rumours on these forums that Agilent offers student pricing (a discount of ~ 30% or so).  If this is the case it could certainly tip in the favour of the Agilent scopes (As I am a University Student).  Has anyone had any success getting educational discounts on Agilent products in Australia?

- 2Ch to 4Ch upgrades ... Dave's review of the Agilent DSOX2000 series gave the impression that you could upgrade the 2ch to the 4ch via a software licence, but the pictures I see of the 2 channel scopes don't even have the knobs or BNC connectors for the 4 channels.  Can anyone confirm whether the 2 channel is upgradable to the 4 channel?

- Waveform updates, Agilent raves about having 50 thousand waveform updates per second.  Doesn't the Rigol do this too?  The 100Kpoints standard memory in the Agilent seems a little mean compared to Rigol's 14Mpoints. 

- Signal Generator, Does the Agilent come with this as standard?  I wasn't going to bother with the Rigol as a standalone generator could be bought for ~$400 anyway.