Author Topic: Cables and connectors for VNA < 3 GHz  (Read 3422 times)

Offline mark03Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Cables and connectors for VNA < 3 GHz
« on: March 04, 2019, 05:35:31 pm »
I'm researching a low-budget VNA system for hobby use, either a 8753x or another circa-2000 instrument.  Although I took prop&rad and transmission-line theory in school, I'm not an RF expert by any means.  I've learned a great deal already just by reading through old threads here, so thanks to the regular contributors for that.

Much of my interest is at really low frequencies (HF) but I would like to put together parts with adequate performance over the range of the instrument I end up with: 3 GHz for an 8753x or 1.8 GHz for a 4396 combo analyzer.  I think I'm going to make my own cal standards from quality SMA connectors to start with, and perhaps eventually get them characterized on a lab-grade system so I can use IN3OTD's Octave/Matlab script to derive my own cal parameters (https://www.qsl.net/in3otd/electronics/VNA_calkit/calkit.html).

Given this performance level and frequency range, how careful do I need to be in my selection of test cables and adapters?  I will likely need to procure N-to-N cables for the connection between a test set and VNA, SMA-to-SMA cables to the DUT, and a pair of APC-7 to SMA adapters.

I gather there are two distinct benefits of the expensive cables (Gore, Minicircuits)---good transmission parameters (return loss and attenuation) at high frequencies, and phase stability.  Reading between the lines it seems like the former may not be so critical below a few GHz, but I'm not sure about the latter.  Is there some middle ground between the $$$ professional stuff and generic Ebay patch cables?  I'm not averse to spending a bit more for quality, but wonder if lab-grade cables are overkill here.