Author Topic: DSOX2000 and 3000 series - licence , have anyone tried to hack that scope ?  (Read 606473 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline tsmith35

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • Country: us
Rigol are doing 4 channel 2000 series scopes now, which should be much cheaper than the 4000 series. Even with the eBay used shop it is hard to justify an Agilent with smaller memory and higher cost, even if the interface is a bit more fluid. Even so, they are just such nice scopes...
I've been wondering why Rigol hasn't had a 4 channel 2000 series scope...
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline kilobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Country: de
    • My Website
Yesterday I did some investigations to locate the picture for that are used for the screensaver.
The Megazoom logo starts at 0x739E30  and has 22876 Bytes and it's a 266x86 pixel array with 1 byte/pixel
The picture uses the same 8 bit color palette as a saved 8bit color Bitmap.

At the adress 73F78C are some information's of the picture 0A 01 = 0x10a = 266  and 00 56 = 0x56 = 86.

So its possible to create a nice customized Screensvaer

Regards
Kai
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline ben_r_

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 411
  • Country: us
  • A Real Nowhere Man
^^^^^^ Very cool. Thanks for sharing that!
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Sbampato12

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 211
  • Country: br
    • Sbampato.com
What means the -l SCPIPS parameter?
I can imagine what the -l ALL do, but not the scpips.
Can someone tell me what it do?
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline wersi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
It might be SCPI programming standard, not shure yet.

-l ALL enables all "trial" licences but without time limit, that's why there are "*" following each license.

@kilobyte

You can find icon of a starship enterprise at 0x00794018, it's 4032 bytes long, and 478x122 pixels.
It look's like there are more easter eggs hidden, not only "lost" (162342),  etch-a-scope and credits.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline ben_r_

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 411
  • Country: us
  • A Real Nowhere Man
HA! Snap a shot of the Enterprise and post it! I wanna see that one!
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline willemite

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
HA! Snap a shot of the Enterprise and post it! I wanna see that one!
I second that one!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Sbampato12

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 211
  • Country: br
    • Sbampato.com
Thanks wersi.

I didnt know the SCPI programming standard.


The changes in the dll file, is the same to the 3000X series?

Interesting to think in new easter egg...!!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline kilobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Country: de
    • My Website
The option SCPIPS could also be the remote logging option to debug the SCPI commands.

And for all Trekkies
see the attachment  :)

Yes i also think this could be a easter egg.
It a littlebit hard to find out in which case this picture / function will be started.

Maybe i can find more about this in the disassembly.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline wersi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
That's possible too, i'm not shure but there is RML license which is probably "Remote Logging".

2000 and 3000 series uses same firmware, i have 2000 series 'scope.

On 2000 series you can upgrade bandwidth up to 200MHz, also i found two extra options which can be enabled with -l switch.  ;)

If you dont like "reload firmware" message, you can find it with hex editor and change it, if You need new line write: 0x1B 0x0A....
If you wanna insert for example agilent copyright message write "<0x1B>M608" or if you wanna insert some graphical resource write for example "<0x1B>P1;"
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Sbampato12

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 211
  • Country: br
    • Sbampato.com
I can't realize why my (2002A) don't go to 200MHz.
Why some users tell they go to 200MHz with the firmware changes, and some (include me) don't.

Another 2 extra instructions?
Expected to exist in this scopes? or something different?
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline ben_r_

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 411
  • Country: us
  • A Real Nowhere Man
The option SCPIPS could also be the remote logging option to debug the SCPI commands.

And for all Trekkies
see the attachment  :)

Yes i also think this could be a easter egg.
It a littlebit hard to find out in which case this picture / function will be started.

Maybe i can find more about this in the disassembly.
Ha ha ha! Awesome! Thanks for posting that!
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline wersi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
When you pass switch SCPIPS to launcher scope returns *** Installing License: Infiniium Mode.
What is infiniium mode?
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Carrington

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1201
  • Country: es
Hi all!

I have a question and, I know that isn't the subject matter of this topic (I apologies), but I hope that someone can help with this, thanks.

Q: The DSOX2000/3000 series gives their maximum waveforms per seconds with auto memory only, or with maximum memory too?
My English can be pretty bad, so suggestions are welcome. ;)
Space Weather.
Lightning & Thunderstorms in Real Time.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline kilobyte

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Country: de
    • My Website
Muahahaha! :-DD

Here is it the Enterprise Screensaver.

I did take a look in the dsox4000 dll and there are a lot more debug information and resources.
I opened the 4000 infiniivision with a resource hacker and I was able to extract bitmaps and Winform dialogs.
After disassembling the dll I searched for the text TREK and found the reference to this in a subfunction with other references to ...Screensaver...
So i tried it on my scope and bingo.

Regards
Kai
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline ben_r_

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 411
  • Country: us
  • A Real Nowhere Man
AH HA HA HA!!! Thats AWESOME!!!
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline wersi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 23
Good work!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Hypernova

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 654
  • Country: tw
Just tried the USB hack for everything including bandwidth, note to people still struggling: Remember to format the drive to FAT16. Fiddled for half an hour scratching my head before I realized that.
« Last Edit: November 20, 2013, 04:44:24 am by Hypernova »
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline DavidDLC

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 739
  • Country: us
I did the hack with a very old and low capacity USB drive and it works fine.

Today I tried with a low cost PNY 8 GB thumbdrive and the system does not recognize the PNY.

Is there a limitation on the USB thumbdrive size ?

Has anybody tried with a 8 GB thumdrive ?

David.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Rigby

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1476
  • Country: us
  • Learning, very new at this. Righteous Asshole, too
I did the hack with a very old and low capacity USB drive and it works fine.

Today I tried with a low cost PNY 8 GB thumbdrive and the system does not recognize the PNY.

Is there a limitation on the USB thumbdrive size ?

Has anybody tried with a 8 GB thumdrive ?

David.

See the above post on formatting FAT16.  Vanilla FAT doesn't support partition sizes over 2GB.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline DavidDLC

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 739
  • Country: us
But... the low capacity USB thumdrive is a FAT32 and it works.  :scared:

David.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline Hypernova

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 654
  • Country: tw
I did the hack with a very old and low capacity USB drive and it works fine.

Today I tried with a low cost PNY 8 GB thumbdrive and the system does not recognize the PNY.

Is there a limitation on the USB thumbdrive size ?

Has anybody tried with a 8 GB thumdrive ?

David.

See the above post on formatting FAT16.  Vanilla FAT doesn't support partition sizes over 2GB.
I am using a 4GB stick, FAT16 does support partition size above 2GB if you format it with 64KB cluster size.
But... the low capacity USB thumdrive is a FAT32 and it works.  :scared:

David.
All I know is that it didn't work until I reformatted to FAT16.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pinkman

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 61
Hi all, 1st post.

I have a newer DSO-X3034A, manufactured 28th week of 2013.

I have tried with the 2.35 Firmware (unpack, modify infiniivisionCore.dll hex data, modify startup .lnk, create startup override .txt file) and my scope simply hangs at the splash screen.  I have tried on many flash drives, new and old, and formatted FAT16 default cluster size and FAT16 with 16kb cluster size.

Has anyone verified this as working for newer 3000X or is this maybe only working on the older models?

Any suggestions for this poor university student are welcome... I have saved a lot of money and used my educational discount to get this scope, but I can not afford any more purchases for a long time :)
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline ixfd64

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 316
  • Country: us
    • Facebook
To boldly go... where no hack has gone before!
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew

Offline pinkman

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Banned!
  • Posts: 61
I am still learning but if that is what I must do, then I will give it my best.

I am first trying to understand if this is not working because I have a newer scope, or because I have somehow done something incorrectly.
 
The following users thanked this post: Andrew


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf