Author Topic: Hameg HMO2024 evaporating data  (Read 2372 times)

Offline majbthrdTopic starter

• Contributor
Hameg HMO2024 evaporating data
« on: July 12, 2014, 03:42:42 am »
I've been using a Hameg HMO2024 oscilloscope for nine months now.  I bought it in part based on some of the positive feedback on this forum.

It has its positive points, but it also has quirks that annoy me to no end.

One aggravates me so much that I felt compelled to post about it.

The Hameg HMO2024 erases waveform data from the screen whenever one 1) adjusts the horizontal position, 2) changes the time base, or 3) activates its memory zoom feature.  Effectively making all those controls off-limits really handicaps the user.

I've used various Tektronix and Agilent digital storage storage scopes over the years, and my recollection is that when one repositions the waveform, the display continues to show the data from the most recent trigger.  I would expect this to be true of all scopes.  However, this is not true of the Hameg HMO2024. 

(At least some scopes also have the nice feature of decreasing the intensity of the existing waveform when changing the trigger level so that one can continue to see the waveform but be made aware that it was acquired under trigger conditions different from the current one.)

Here's how the Hameg drives me to agony.  I see something interesting in the waveform and make a slight adjustment to move it (away from the grid lines, for example) and POOF it has completely disappeared.

It might not be much of an issue when the trigger condition happens many times a second, but if the trigger condition is reasonably rare, it is darn annoying.  You've finally found the hard to find condition and NOOOOOOO.... it is gone.